+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Applying german patch to english version?

Hello, I got a bit tired of all the crashes and I figured I'd try installing the german patch. At first it complained that my config.ini was the wrong version, but it passed fine when I cleverly changed the line

// Language for localization
    Language = "english"

to

Language = "german"

After that though, it prints the same "version problem" error message for the file DB\text.dbt

The header for that file for me says version 1.02. Since that file already contains english/german text, I don't see why it won't just patch over it.

Anyone has a suggestion? Other than waiting however long Jowood feels for an official english patch I mean. I'm pretty sure the game would work just fine with the german patch, and so what if a few new strings in the game happen to be converted to german or whatnot. At least it'll be playable.

Im not very good at messing with this, but if you do find more information, post it... game is nearly unplayable, and I can't do LAN with my brother wich really sucks (Out of sync all the time), so if the patch fix all that it'd be great

They will release another Hotfix for the MP-part and some bugs in Singleplayer (http://forum.jowood.de/showthread.php?t=122230) today. Hope you'll be able to use both patches soon.

Success!

After having to reinstall twice and some help from a very nice german user, I managed to install the german patch to the english version. I've played the game for 5 hours straight without a single crash, finally I managed to enjoy the game without seeing my desktop every 20 minutes.

Ok, here are the 71 step instructions to install the german patch on the UK version of The Guild II (ok just kidding, 6 steps). All paths are relative to the game folder :

1 - Open config.ini and change

Language = "english"

to

Language = "german"

2 - Open \Resources\loca.txt, change ENG to GER